- About Us
- Photo Store
Time to Renovate Little Chute Lock Tender House
Posted by shari on February 19th, 2014
Plans for Restoration Approved by State Historical Society
The Little Chute Lock House, and two other lock tender homes, Cedars on Main St. and Combined Locks at Heesakker Park, are being restored as unique vacation rental properties, but need a lot of work. The U.S. Corps of Engineers built these homes for the men, known as lockmasters, and their families. The lockmaster managed the operation and maintenance of the lock, dam, buildings, house and grounds. While the exterior of the houses have been rehabbed, the interiors need to be demolished due to water damage, mold and vandalism. Modern plumbing and electrical systems need to be installed and renovation is estimated at approximately $200,000 per home.
Built in 1909, the Little Chute Lock House will be restored with furnishings, trim and decor authentic to the 1930’s era. Some of the materials have already been collected, including doors that were acquired at auction from a 1920’s dormitory in Union Grove, Wisconsin.
Tear out and electrical renovations can begin as soon as the outside air can maintain temperatures of 20° or more. The Parkway is hoping more contractors will follow suit and donate more time and materials to this worthwhile project.
“We are thrilled to be able to bring these historic structures back to life and give visitors the chance to step back in time for a night or two,” says Candice Mortara, board president of the parkway.
For information on how contractors and other interested parties can get involved, call 920-209-7789 or contact the Parkway at firstname.lastname@example.org.