Fox Wisconsin Heritage Parkway

A non-profit organization dedicated to the improvement and preservation of the Fox and Wisconsin Rivers.

Our Blog

FWHP National Heritage Area Legislation Introduced to Congress!


Legislation includes 15 counties throughout Wisconsin in proposed National Heritage Area

WASHINGTON, March 6, 2012 – Today, Senator Herb Kohl and Congressman Tom Petri introduced legislation to establish the Fox-Wisconsin Heritage Parkway as a National Heritage Area. The proposed Fox-Wisconsin Heritage Parkway runs through parts of 15 counties throughout Wisconsin and marks the path of Father Jacques Marquette and Louis Joliet’s exploration through Wisconsin to the Mississippi River.

“We are fortunate that Wisconsin is home to this rich portion of our country’s history,” Kohl said. “The new designation of the Fox-Wisconsin Heritage Parkway will work to preserve the history of the area and educate residents and visitors alike of the influence of Father Marquette and Louis Joliet on the Wisconsin landscape.”

Petri commented, “Establishing this heritage area will highlight our region’s unique contributions to America’s national story. In doing so we will draw Americans from across the country who wish to learn more about our state’s unique history, culture and heritage, and will enhance the quality of life for Wisconsin’s residents.”

The National Park Service defines National Heritage Areas as:

“…places where natural, cultural, historic and scenic resources combine to form a cohesive, nationally important landscape arising from patterns of human activity shaped by geography. These patterns make National Heritage Areas representatives of the American experience through the physical features that remain and the traditions that have evolved in them. These regions are acknowledged by Congress for their capacity to tell important stories about our nation. Continued use of National Heritage Areas by people whose traditions helped to shape the landscape enhances their significance.”

The National Heritage Area (NHA) concept was created in 1984, with the goal of preserving our national history and resources, and telling a unique story about American history. There are currently 49 NHAs, though none are located in Wisconsin. Unlike a National Park, a NHA is not managed by the National Park Service, and no land exchanges are made. Instead, the NHA designation serves as a structure for residents, non-profit organizations and businesses to work together on education and conservation of the historic resources of the area.

The proposed Fox-Wisconsin Heritage Parkway NHA includes approximately 1,400 square miles of land in 15 counties in central and southeastern Wisconsin, including Brown, Calumet, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Fond du Lac, Grant, Green Lake, Iowa, Marquette, Outagamie, Richland, Sauk, Waushara, and Winnebago counties. This area was chosen to tell the story of Father Jacques Marquette and Louis Joliet and their voyage in 1673 from the Great Lakes down the Mississippi River, the results of which helped establish European settlements in the Mississippi River Corridor.

National Heritage Areas can only be designated through an act of Congress; accordingly, like other acts of Congress, the bill introduced today must pass the House and Senate and be signed by the President.

# # #

    One Comment

    • The Town of Menasha supports the establishment of this National Heritage Parkway. The Town has a resolution on file of support.

      As the Community Development Director for the Town I also see both the economic and quality of life benefits of this designation and strongly support the designation.

    Leave a Comment